Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Lazy summer days July 30, 2008

Filed under: life is flippin suh-weet — Rachel @ 12:20 am

I have been thoroughly enjoying my summer break away from school…..especially since I quit working. This leaves me with copious amounts of time to do…..well, I haven’t been really “doing” much of anything, but I have been enjoying every minute of it. I’ve been working on a needlepoint for a few weeks now, so I guess that qualifies as “doing” something. Still not finished with it yet though. I’ve filled in all the little small areas, and all I have left is the giant middle part….which I will probably become very impatient with. I am a “want it NOW” kind of girl. If I order food at a restaurant I expect it to come in the next 10 minutes. When I wait in line at the bank I don’t like to spend more than 2-3 minutes. If I suddenly decide that painting my bathroom is a fabulous idea, I am in the car and driving to Lowe’s. So the big parts in a needlepoint are kind of frustrating for me, because it takes them so long to look like anything. Oh well, it’s teaching me patience.

Oh, I’ve also been indulging my inner 10 year old nerd by getting and daily playing with a Nintendo DS. Oh, I should also mention that D also bought one, because we are bad at sharing. (How fun, when we eventually have kids, they can be impatient AND unsharing. Maybe they’ll even pick up on our swearing!) (Don’t knock it-the family that swears together, stays together…) D and I even play them before bed, madly poking away at the little screen with the little stylus, in the dark, with only the glow of the screens illuminating the room. (And who said romance was dead?!) We have lots of fun going to the store to look at all the new games with all the 10 year olds. (Imagine, two 20somethings towering over a crowd of prepubescent boys, all fighting over the latest “Mario Kart” game. Obviously, D and I win, because not only are we smarter, we are much taller.)

Seriously though, it’s been great being away from school for awhile. I’ve been able to go to the gym everyday, and I feel fantastic. No stress at all, just doing whatever. It’s amazing how chores like emptying the dishwasher and going to the grocery store don’t seem so bad when you aren’t doing them at 1:30 in the morning, because you had no other time to do them. Best of all, it’s given D and I so much time together. I’ve been able to see him so much more than I do during the school year, because he works odd hours, and summer allows me to be so flexible with my time, that I can stay up all night and sleep all day if I want.

Life is good.

 

Leave a Reply

