Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

To Scan or Not to Scan? August 1, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rachel @ 12:48 pm

I was awakened at 6:30 this morning by D on his way to bed (somebody stayed up all night playing Wii). That’s ok though because I wanted to get up early enough for some contemplation time. I’ve been pretty sure since Sunday (hurting since last Friday night) that I have an ovarian cyst(s? -it’s been hurting on both sides). I was just at my ob/gyn last week for my annual check-up,  and he didn’t say anything, but this was before I  started hurting. Being in pain all week prompted me to go to my general practitioner, who was pretty sure that it is a cyst (or cysts). The GP told me that if it was still hurting on Friday, to go have an ultrasound done….which brings me to my dilemma…….Yes, I am still hurting, but I am not nearly as tender on the outside as I was all week. So it’s sort of better. But, since an ultrasound is such a nothing procedure, I am tempted to just go and have it done, just to be on the safe side.  I’ve also been (TMI here folks) reaaaaaaaalllllly bloated (last night I looked about 4 months pregnant) and uh, slightly constipated. So I don’t think I’m being irrational if I decide to go and have the scan done. SOMETHING is going on.  I guess I’m just afraid of going and looking like a hypochondriac. But, better safe than sorry.  I guess I can’t truthfully gauge if it is really better or not, since it’s just been hurting off and on for the past week, so I can’t really tell if it’s lightening up or just not hurting as bad for now.

Still not sure what I will end up doing.

Must consult mom.

Will update soon.

Ps-note to my ovaries-if you are going to be photographed, please remember to sit up straight with your shoulders back-it makes you look so much more self-confident

 

2 Responses to “To Scan or Not to Scan?”

  1. I actualy ended up have one of my egg-makers removed because of a cyst that continued to grow, and not just dissolve like the others had. I’d go. And it’s SO much fun to have to hold all that water for an ultrasound, especially when they start pressing on your bladder. Who could resist?

  2. Rachel Says:

    I think I’ve decided to see how it goes over the weekend. If it’s still bugging me on Monday, I’ll have the scan. Seeing as it’s Friday, I don’t really want to mess up my lovely Friday with someone pushing on my full bladder and probing around in my womanly bits. That sounds like a much better Monday activity.


Leave a Reply

