Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Tuesday August 5, 2008

Filed under: cooking,good news — Rachel @ 5:46 pm

Good afternoon campers.

How about an update on my reproductive organs?

The news: Small (!) cyst, follow up with an appointment, no ultrasound (yet)

I was pretty pleased with this plan of attack. I really wasn’t dying for someone to press on my full bladder.

On that note, I know that every lady who has had an ultrasound of her female parts thinks of one thing and one thing only: How to keep from peeing on the technician.

The last time I had one I seriously thought that I was going to, because they made me drink all that water, then something happened where I had to wait a REALLY long time, I mean longer than usual. By the time I even got on the table to have the scan, I was questioning whether or not I could hold it much longer….then she started pressing around….ohhhhh.

I didn’t though.

On another (non-reproductive system) note: I’m feeling particularly creative today…I really want to make ice cream. I don’t have an ice cream maker though. I think I will go buy one.  The only problem is that I really don’t know anything about ice cream makers at ALL.  I’ve already done enough research to figure out that I don’t want that ice cream ball thing (you toss it around till it’s done, maybe fun for like 5 minutes, or longer if you have small kids), and I am horrified at some of the reviews or the other makers….they all seem to break at the merest provocation…not a good thing in my kitchen, where things routinely get dropped, shoved, stepped on and swore at. And I don’t want to spend a lot on this thing. I mean, I don’t think making ice cream is going to become a daily thing (maybe for the first few days, then I think it will probably just get used occasionally on weekends or something). And the thing needs to make more than a pint of ice cream at a time. (“Yum”, says I, “where’s mine?” says D) I want to make enough to share with family.

Suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

 

3 Responses to “Tuesday”

  1. Beagoodmom Says:

    Just so you won’t feel like you are the only one sharing too much on the internet….let me tell you about the time I had 12 ounces (yes, the size of a Diet Coke can) drained from a cyst….

    I had 12 ounces of fluid drained from a cyst once.

    The cyst was not painful, it was caused by the fertility drugs I was on. But the actual draining did hurt. But, I got a good story out of it. Want to hear it again?

    I had 12 ounces of fluid drained from a cyst once.

    I get lots of miles out of that story. totally worth it.

    hahahahaha

  2. Beagoodmom Says:

    Oh, and on the topic of ice cream makers….my mom gave me a Cuisinart one. Its nice. The only problem is that alot of the included recipes call for a significant amount of prepwork. You have to mix and boil a milk base and then cool it off. Then add to pre-frozen mixing chamber. Not the sort of thing you can do on a whim. But there are a few quickie recipes available. something to consider. Maybe they have improved the recipes by now.

  3. Rachel Says:

    I will have to look into the cuisinart one. I have a few recipes that are really simple, just nothing to freeze them in.
    And that is crazy that you had a cyst that big! Mine is small and I felt like it was going to tear my ovary off.


Leave a Reply

