Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Sick Of Sticks. August 14, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rachel @ 9:59 am

I can’t even open a magazine anymore without getting severely annoyed. What annoys me so much, you ask?

The models. And the celebrities.

I am so sick of seeing stick thin (people so thin that you can see every bone in their chest, all their ribs, etc, you know what I mean) portrayed as “ideal”.  Yes, it is unhealthy to be overweight, but it is also unhealthy to be that thin.

I think I am a very  average  woman, I wear a size 10 or 12,  I walk or work out often, I eat healthy (with the exception of a few treats every now and then), and I think I have a pretty decent body, if I do say so myself.

So when I open a magazine that is supposedly advertising clothes to ME, well, I’d like to see women who looked a little more like me.  I mean, I’d just like to see some people that look like they had more than a cigarette and a tic-tac for lunch.

 

4 Responses to “Sick Of Sticks.”

  1. Rachel Says:

    A Virginia Slim. You’ve come a long way baby.

  2. Mike Says:

    As a guy who flips through my wife’s magazines, I’m amazed at the lack of variety in the models. Even if the world decided that super-crazy-stick-thin-with-visible-bones was a good look, does that mean it is the only look people want to see?

    What’s wrong with size 2, 6, 12, and 18 women all getting together to walk down the street in fancy dresses? That seems like it would be better for marketing to a larger group of people that would be able to imagine themselves using/wearing whatever the product is.

  3. Rachel Says:

    Much agreed Mike. It’s not so much that I mind stick thin people, but it would be nice to see all body types represented in the ads.


Leave a Reply

