Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Lessons Learned From My Dog August 16, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rachel @ 10:53 am

I have a dog named Mayzie-Jane. I call her Mayzie, for the most part. If you haven’t noticed already, I am quite fond of Miss Mayzie.  Yesterday I noticed something….there are a lot of things that people could learn from Mayzie.

I gave her a bath yesterday, which she hated (with a passion), but after it was over, all was forgiven after 3 cheese slices and some dog biscuits. Cheese slices to Mayzie are like cookies to humans. I know it sounds silly, but wouldn’t it be nice if we could all learn from this? If someone you love does something you don’t like, it’s ok to be mad for awhile, but if they apologize, you should forgive them.

Mayzie has an uncanny ability to tell if someone is upset or sick. If you are feeling sad, she will come sit by you until you feel better.  True story: my cousin’s wife lost a baby at birth a few years back and a few months after, they came to our house for Thanksgiving. She wasn’t crying or visibly upset, but Mayzie knew something was wrong. She sat by her with her paws on her lap. Mayzie is definitely not a dog that takes up easily with people she does not know, nor is she a lap dog, so it was really surprising for her to do this. Lesson learned: Wouldn’t it be nice if we could all pay enough attention to people we care about, enough that we could know if they were sad without them having to tell us?

Mayzie is very happy when we come home after we’ve been out. Her tail thumps wildly, she makes little happy noises, and her eyes just look flat out happy. Wouldn’t it be nice if we could show that much enthusiasm when our loves came home?

Very simple things make Mayzie happy. She likes to go for rides in the car (especially in D’s truck, where she can sit between us), she likes to go for walks, she likes it when you sit outside with her, she likes eating soft-serve ice cream cones. All of these are very simple pleasures. Wouldn’t it be nice if we could all enjoy the simple things in life? Instead of worrying about where our next mega-vacation was going to take place, wouldn’t it be nice if we could just sit on our own front porches and watch the clouds go by?

I could go on all day with things I’ve learned from Mayzie (such as, yes, your neighbors will be mad at you if you steal their newspaper and then tear it to shreds), so I’ll wrap this up.

But isn’t it funny that I learned about being a better person from a dog?

Examining this plant is fascinating!

Examining this plant is fascinating!

 

2 Responses to “Lessons Learned From My Dog”

  1. I bet your not the first person to think that dogs make better people than people do. I heard that dogs are so happy when we come home because of pack behavior. It’s their way of welcoming you back to the pack after a successful hunt. I used to tell our dog, “I made it! I survived.” when I came home.

  2. Rachel Says:

    So maybe my dog thinks I am a master huntress of iams kibble and barkin’ bacon? =)


Leave a Reply

