Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

What is the etiquette for something like this? September 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rachel @ 8:17 pm

I think I may have inadvertantly pissed a friend off.

Now, this is someone that I have known for many years, but don’t really talk to that much anymore, simply because we are both such busy people.

Yesterday, I ran into this friend on the street. I said “hey!” and smiled, but I was on the phone and did not stop and chat.

Now I think that this friend may be a bit ticked, because I sent her a text later explaining why I didn’t stop to chat, and she sort of responded in a way that made me think that she thought I was really rude (she thought that I didn’t know who she was-not true at all!).

Now to me, it would have been more rude if I had started carrying on a conversation with her, because I was on the phone with someone else.  (My Mom) I had called my mom and was trying to explain something that had happened earlier in the day. It wasn’t a major conversation or anything, just chatting, but I feel like my first priority was with the person that I had called.

Long story short, I am not sure if I have anything to feel slightly guilty about or not.

What do you think?

 

4 Responses to “What is the etiquette for something like this?”

  1. Hey, Mom, can I call you right back?

  2. Rachel Says:

    I thought about that, but I really didn’t want to hang up on my mom just to say “Hey, how’s it going?” and for her to say “Good. You?” me: “Good, just on my way to the store.” Her: “Oh. See you later!”
    I dunno, maybe I was rude, but I just felt like I couldn’t stop and chat.
    (I don’t see her very much, but I did stick around at a get-together a week ago just to be able to say hi to her.)

  3. punkrockdad Says:

    Cell phones are satanic, hang it up for a face to face with a friend you rarely get to talk to.

  4. Rachel Says:

    Chaah, I guess I just goofed on this. I guess since I don’t see my mom everyday, I was just so wrapped up in the conversation that I didn’t stop to think.


Leave a Reply

