Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Things I Want September 23, 2008

Filed under: nerdiness,the world around me — Rachel @ 9:13 pm

I saw that car again with the “Do not meddle in the Affairs of Dragons, For You Are  Crunchy and Good With Ketchup.”

That bumper sticker makes me smile. I may need it.

The only bumper stickers I have on my car are a window decal with the name of my college on it, and an Episcopal church sticker. I like them. They tell a lot about me just from a glance at my car. But they aren’t funny like the dragon one.

I also want an Obam.a 08 sticker for my car, especially since election time is getting close. Represent yo.

Others I would like include the “When Clinton Lied, Nobody Died” , “1.20.09-The End of An Error”, and my personal favorite” ‘Where’s My Bird ,Dad? ‘He died because of your poor grades.'”

I would also like a speech topic for the speech I have to write. It has to be an informative speech. Maybe I will write about bumper stickers. Seriously though, any ideas? I want to stay away from topics like a.bortion, the war in Ira.q, and gay marriage (I’m pro-choice , against, and for, just in case you had any doubts) because the next speech we write has to be argumentative. So this one just sort of needs to be about something neutral.  And informative.

I really have no clue what to talk about.  I want to write about something I’m interested in, because that way I’ll be able to remember the speech better, and I’ll also be able to speak with more conviction. But I don’t want it to be anything that I feel TOO strongly about, because then I’ll come off as sounding argumentative. And that’s for next time.  I am a world class arguer. Just ask D. I will so own that speech. But informative? I can’t think of much that I just happen to know a bunch of random facts about.  I thought about writing about the gay marriage ban in TN, but then I’d just get pissed because it’s so stupid. I thought about writing something informative about Planned Parenthood, but then I might feel like I was arguing about it.  Actually though, the more I think about it the more I think that that is something that I could write about that I support and care about, without getting into an argument about it.  Planned Parenthood does this….and that….and they also do this…..end of speech.

Still not sure though.

What do you think?

Any good topic ideas?

 

Leave a Reply

