Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Hoofing It September 25, 2008

Filed under: the world around me — Rachel @ 11:54 am

I walk. Everywhere. Well, that is everywhere on campus. Some people ride bikes, and others choose to drive. I like walking. I don’t get the bike riding. Sure, riding a bike is fun, but riding a bike on the sidewalks is VERY frowned upon, so if you have to venture even a little bit off campus, you have to contend with fast moving traffic. (Speed limit on campus is 15mph, with fairly wide streets so that you aren’t really riding with traffic).  I really, REALLY, don’t get why people choose to drive from one building to another on campus. This university, although certainly not tiny, is really not all that big. Parking is HORRENDOUS this year, so if you find a parking spot, you better keep park it until you are ready to leave.  Plus, student parking is not usually located right behind buildings….so even if you move your car to try to get “closer” you are still going to have to walk.

So I walk. Everywhere. Sometimes I even walk downtown just to look around. I like walking. I can take in all the sights, sounds, and smells. (Who doesn’t like the smell of fresh air?) I can go at my own pace. I walk so much that I don’t feel quite so compelled to work out since, hey, walking is good for you. Right?

Do you like walking places, or do you prefer to ride a bike or drive your car (even if you aren’t going far)?

 

Leave a Reply

