Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Help Me? October 2, 2008

Filed under: cooking,Uncategorized — Rachel @ 12:02 pm

It’s no secret that I love to eat. I am one of those people that will try nearly anything (unless it’s made from some weird animal or weird animal part) at least once. I love spicy, flavorful food. But I’m kind of stuck in a culinary rut. I’m a good cook (not bragging, but I’ve been cooking since I  was around 7 or so, I’ve had lots of practice), but I seem to cook sort of the same things, or same types of things all the time. Mostly because I cook for D or my mom, dad, and sister, or D’s parents, or any combination of those people, so I cook things I think they will like. I mostly make stuff that’s fairly easy-spaghetti, salad, pasta salad, fruit salads, au gratin potatoes (a big favorite), meatloaf, fried rice, an assortment of cakes, cookies, and pies, lots of casseroles, and pretty much any kind of “southern” food you can imagine (i make a mean baked garlic and cheese grits). My favorite thing is probably baking, but baking can be sort of limited. I mean, desserts are great, but you can’t exactly eat them all day everyday. So I need some new recipes.  I would love to be able to make Thai curry, because there is a great Thai restaurant that I like going to, but it’s sort of expensive for just some curry and rice.  I like their pineapple red curry. It has pineapple, green bell peppers, red bell peppers, your choice of meat, and fresh basil. I am not entirely sure what the soupy part is made of other than the red curry. I don’t want to make any curry with coconut milk in it, because it has SO much fat and calories, even though it is delicious.

So does anyone have any great recipies to share with me? Recipies for anything? Any idea how to make Thai curry? (Or Indian curry, i like the Thai, but as I said I love spicy.) I love trying new recipes, so please, SHARE!

 

Leave a Reply

