Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

hitchin music October 15, 2008

Filed under: good news,life is flippin suh-weet,nerdiness — Rachel @ 11:00 am

Although nothing has been set in stone yet with D and my’s wedding, we have pretty much decided on the time of year, and that we will be getting married in less than 2 years (hopefully). I know that 2 years sounds like a good bit of time, but actually, if you think about it, it’s really not.  My mom and I were talking this morning about how quickly time passes. So it got me to thinkin. I wouldn’t mind picking out a few things for this wedding, so why not start with the music?

First of all, I need a song for my bridesmaids to walk down the aisle to. So I think I’m going with this one. And yes, that song does appear on the twil.ight soundtrack.

Pretty, huh?

Now I’ll be needing a song for myself to walk down the aisle to. I might just walk in on part of the last song, but I also somehow want my OWN song. I know I can always play “here comes the bride” but I’m just not totally sold on that yet. I want all piano music though, no organ, so I guess “here comes the bride” on piano might do. I just don’t think it’s as pretty as the last song.  If you know of any pretty song that you think would compliment the last song, please let me know. I’m thinking something like this:

or possibly this

or this

Now, after we’re hitched, we’ll be needing music to walk out to. I’m thinking this: (except not so much craziness)

Then after that, we’ll be needing a first dance song…this is where it gets trickier. I want us to have a song that’s really “us” so these are my top choices. They may not be typical wedding fare, but they really fit us.

Option 1: “Anyone Else But You” by the Moldy Peaches

Pros: Fits us to a “t”, low key, unique

Cons: Contains the word “turd” (which D calls me all the time, so that might not really be a con)

Option 2: “The Way I Am” by Ingrid Michaelson

Pros: unique, cute, fits us well

Cons: I can’t really think of any…right now that is

Option 3: “Kiss Me” by sixpence none the richer

Pros: This is the song that I have had picked out since D and I decided we should get hitched. I love it. I think it really suits our personalities well and I think it shows the feel that I want for the reception.

Cons: D confided in me that this was the song that his ex used to say was “their” song. Pfft.

Option 4: “Wonderwall” by Oasis

Pros: Again, something about it just fits us

Cons: I can’t really think of any. Except for the fact that it doesn’t really sound like wedding music

So what do you think? Which ones do you like the best? I still have no idea, but maybe playing them all again will give me a better idea.

 

Leave a Reply

