Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Early Voting October 18, 2008

Filed under: Yes We Can! — Rachel @ 10:44 am

I voted yesterday!

This was my first time to get to vote in a presidential election, and let me tell you, I was EXCITED! Pushing the button beside Senator Obama’s name was thrilling. Imagine, little old me, voicing my opinion about who the next leader of our country will be. Imagine, my vote counts just as much as the current president’s vote.

Women in this country have only had the right to vote since 1920. In the grand scheme of things, that is not very long ago, at ALL.  A lot of things have changed in the last 88 years.  A lot of things have changed in the last 40 years. I cast my first presidential vote for a black man, something truely incredible when you think that only in the last 40 or so years has our country finally evolved and broke free from segregation.

I feel really excited to live in America right now. I feel so proud and honored to have cast my first vote for Obama-Biden; I feel like I am really getting to live what I feel will be a momentous occasion in American history.

 

One Response to “Early Voting”

  1. Yay for you! This will be my daughter’s first presidential election, but she’s an election inspector (poll worker) so she voted by absentee ballot. I encourage all my sixth graders to accompany mom or dad to the polls.


Leave a Reply

