Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Yes We Did! November 5, 2008

Filed under: Yes We Can! — Rachel @ 10:39 pm

I have been walking on air all day. Never in my life have I been so proud to be an American. When I graduate and go out into the teaching world, I will FINALLY be able to tell my students that you can truly be whatever you want to be, regardless of your race or gender.  I was at an Obama supporters party last night when the news was announced. I let out an ear piercing scream, jumped up and down, and cried a little. I wanted this so badly, and it happened! I’d like to thank all the people who hoped and prayed along with me, hoping that our country would see that it is time for a change. And our country did.  I have always been proud to be an American, but this feeling today trumps everything. Finally, we broke through that barrier, and I feel like we are now well on our way to becoming the country that Dr. King dreamed of. Finally! Finally we overcame prejudice and hate. Finally!

At the Obama Supporters party last night, this was our chant when we heard the news (well shortly after we heard the news, we had to stop crying joyful tears first).

YES WE DID!

YES WE DID!

YES WE DID!

YES WE DID!

YES WE DID!

YES WE DID!

YES WE DID!

YES WE DID!

 

Leave a Reply

