Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Is it rudeness day in TN? November 12, 2008

Filed under: the internets is cheaper than therapy — Rachel @ 8:59 pm

Seriously people, what the hell?

TWO people have been rude to me today.

That is TWO too many.

The kicker? Both these women are at least a good 30 years older than I.

Now I am an EXTREMELY polite person (in person that is, on the internets everything just sort of comes out.). I am polite almost to a fault.  I am not bragging when I say that I have extremely good manners. I hold doors open for other people. I offer to help strangers carry things. I say “please”, “thank you”, “have a nice day”, and “excuse me” several times a day.  Ok, I’ll admit to having given people the finger in traffic, but that shouldn’t really count against me, now should it?

Anyway, the first incident happened this morning. I was feeling sluggish so I decided to go work out, ya know, get myself energized (and also not feel bad if I happened to end up just laying around the rest of the day.)  Well, I walked to the campus fitness center. I had to pee when I got there.  The reasonable thing to do is pee before starting your workout, yes? So I go to the bathroom. A lady is mopping. There is no “restroom closed for cleaning” sign or anything like that, so I think that it’s ok to go in.  She apparently did not hear me go in (or was just ignoring the fact that I was standing behind her) because she continued to block my way to the toilets. So I said “Excuse Me”, expecting that she would say “Oh, I’m sorry! I didn’t hear you!” or some other normal response.

No.

She turned around, hmmmphed, gave me a NASTY look, and STOMPED out. No, she actually stomped out.

Now I know that I am not the cutest person in the mornings, especially pre-workout, pre-make-up, pre-shower, but really, I had no clue I was so offensive?

Now onto my second incident of the day!

Today was registration day for me, where I get to register for my classes for next semester, I got a totally crap time, blah, blah, blah, blah.

Honestly, I didn’t expect as much trouble out of it, because I am an upperclassman, and in the upper division of the education program, that you have to be accepted to to be able to take the classes.

Well, long story short, two classes I needed were closed, and two others informed me that I could not take those classes without first registering for a co-requisite. Which did not exsist.

Now I can get that fixed, because something in the computer just screwed up the course numbers, and the other one I HAVE to take, so hopefully they will let me in?

But this other class…a science class. I could not get into the section I needed. The only other one availiable conflicted with a course that I already had. So I email my academic advisor, politely explaining my difficulties, hoping that they could find a way around it.

Apparently, I commited some horrible faux pas by consulting the person that was hired just to deal with things like this, because they minced no words in telling me that as I know, I should have taken this class before now, and I HAVE to take it.

Yes Virginia, I KNOW I have to take the damned thing. That is why I’m writing you. And as for having taken it before now, I was unaware that it was so distasteful to take bio your junior year? I didn’t know I was breaking some unspoken rule.  Sure, I took some stuff a little out of order, but it shouldn’t hurt anything. After all, I only have around forty hours left to take, including student teaching. That is not very much at all.

I don’t like it when people make me feel stupid.

 

2 Responses to “Is it rudeness day in TN?”

  1. AZ Mom Says:

    i have a dream of walking around with a purse full of Ben’s Bells. don’t know what those are? go here: http://www.bensbells.org/ did you go there yet? okay. hurry…i’ll wait…..do-wa-diddy-diddy dum, diddy–oh! you’re back. okay. so the purse full of bells. now, my dream is to take my purse full of these bells out on my everyday errands – but most especially during the snarky holiday bustley times. and each time i run into some rude person, i’d smile while reaching into my purse (their hearts would likely stop thinking i’m reaching for some sort firearm), i’d find one simple strand and pull out a nice, happy bell. and while handing it to the dismayed jacka–, i’d say in the most Pollyanna way possible, “It looks like you needed this more than I.” And that, sweets, is my day dream on how to manage a snarky snot or two. while there are a few people who have rankled your good humor, know that someone out in the great unknown has had a better day for happening upon your space. hugs!

  2. Rachel Says:

    I love the idea of the Ben’s Bells! What a great comeback for a rude person. Thank you so much for your sweet comments, they really mean a lot!


Leave a Reply

