Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Up To My Eyeballs November 20, 2008

Filed under: nerdiness,the internets is cheaper than therapy — Rachel @ 7:32 pm

In work that is.

I have the following things to complete: memorizing a speech, finishing up a curriculum project, writing a 12 page paper for same curriculum class, writing an 8 page paper for another class, a chemistry project, and chemistry extra credit.

And yet, I am still wasting time here, on the internets.

Oh well, at least it’s theraputic.  The play doh I’m squishing is also theraputic. It’s pink and has that wonderful play-doh smell. Do you know what I’m talking about? I read today that play-doh gets its smell from vanilla. It doesn’t smell like vanilla to me, but it does smell pretty damn good.

I have a friend that works with a teacher that made pumpkin pie smelling play-doh for fall. That sounds wonderful. Unfortunately, when working with the tiny tots, if it smells good, it must taste good, so I’m wondering how many people decided to have a taste. Not even going to lie, I would probably taste it, just to see.  (Don’t give me that raised eyebrow look-we’ve all tasted play-doh at some point in our lives. It’s very salty.)

Something else I noticed today-the older I get, the more I want to buy toys. Today I thought about my old slinky and how fun it was. I haven’t had one in years.  I would love a slinky. I would also like some silly putty, and some magic growing trees. I had all these things when I was a kid, and I would LOVE to play with them again. Maybe it’s because I’m going to be a teacher? I don’t really know. I still like nintendo, puzzles, board games, crayons, markers, colored pencils, etc. Which is probably a good thing because kids think you are the funnest grown-up EVAR if you play these things with them.  I’m glad I’m not boring and stuffy.  I could never have a behind the desk job. Wayyy too bouncy for that. And too bossy.  I’d probably jump up out of my desk chair and say something like “Ok, everyone get out your crayons! Today we’re going to learn ALL about the letter Z!” Or something.

 

2 Responses to “Up To My Eyeballs”

  1. LiteralDan Says:

    Play-Doh smells gross to me, and I love vanilla. So that intrigues me.

    And wasting time on the internet is THE thing to do when you have something more important to do, like working, writing, feeding your children, or sleeping.

  2. Rachel Says:

    Really? I love play-doh smell! Ha, obviously the internet is the ULTIMATE in time wasting. It is also insomnia inducing I believe.


Leave a Reply

