Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Technical Problems November 24, 2008

Filed under: nerdiness,the internets is cheaper than therapy — Rachel @ 10:07 pm

So I just had a minor freak out a moment ago. I was logging into this blog, when I realized that firefox had deleted my password. Whatever. Happens sometimes. I tried to put in the password. Failed. Tried again. Failed. Realized that I have too many different passwords and could not remember it, so I changed the password. Ok. Pretty easy. Get email with new password. Attempt to use new password. Am shown a message saying that the authors have deleted the contents of this blog. WHAT? I am the author. I didn’t delete anything except for a few rant-tastic posts that after writting them I stopped and read them and decided they sounded wayyy snotty and mean, two things which I am definitely not.

So I freaked a little.

I visited another blog I had commented on, and clicked through to this one. Then it finally accepted the password.

Phew.

I don’t know what I would do if my little piece of cyber-space was gone suddenly.

Why, I’d have nowhere to vent.

And I’d also probably have to start paying someone to listen to my problems. Not that there is anything wrong with that, but when your problem du jour is trying to find time to write your final exam essays, you really are pretty lucky. (And also probably not in need of therapy.)

 

8 Responses to “Technical Problems”

  1. sara Says:

    It should be noted that as a student you get free therapy. At the counseling center.

    Fun times.

  2. Rachel Says:

    Ah yes, the many amenities of um, that school we go to. Actually, I really don’t have much to complain about. I thoroughly enjoy dissecting every little detail of things that happen to me.
    Crap.
    That’s probably a bit odd.

  3. Mike Says:

    Does wordpress.com give you an option to back up your blog? If so, you should do that about once a week. It will help with some of that kind of anxiety.

    Or you could look into running wordpress on your own like me and BeAGoodMom do and have real control over what happens.

  4. Rachel Says:

    Mike, I have no idea. I am only moderately technically literate. Is running it on your own hard/expensive?

  5. Mike Says:

    Not very hard. And the cost is about $8-20/year for buying the URL and then about $6-20/month for paying for a host to store the site on.

    But if you host the site yourself instead of using a wordpress.com URL, then you can run your own ads which can at least offset some of the costs if not pay for all of them.

  6. Rachel Says:

    I may have to look into that. I started this blog on a lark, and ended up actually liking it!

  7. Mike Says:

    If you need help, I’ve set up a ton of them and can walk you through (or even do) each step.

  8. Rachel Says:

    I will definitely get in touch with you if I decide to do it!


Leave a Reply

