Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

This time tomorrow…. December 3, 2008

This time tomorrow, I will be much less stressed indeed.

I have a final presentation to do in one class, I get back another project in that class, and then I am done with that class. Phew.

Once that one is over with, I will feel much better.

I have a particularly rant-tastic blog about that class, but I’m saving it until final grades are published. (Hey, you never know.)

I still have to present my chemistry project, and turn it in, but I am not so worried about chemistry anymore.

I have to write one last paper for another class, but I really don’t think it will be too bad.

I have to turn in practicum hours, after having my practicum teacher fill out one more thing, and then, I will be done.

Next week I have a chemistry exam (which I am not going to freak out about. The chemistry exam cannot hurt you, she set it up so that you can only gain points if you choose to take it. Bless you, chemistry professor.)

And I have another exam, one that I’m really not worried about at all.

And then, then my friends, I will be done until mid-January, when school starts back up.

I am so ready for this break. I know I just had 5 days off for Thanksgiving, but this semester has somewhat kicked my ass.  I’m glad it’s almost over.

Then, if everything goes according to plan (Please, Please, Please, God, let everything go according to plan.) I will only have 3 semesters left at this fine institution of learning (somedays I just call it the institution.)

3 semesters isn’t so bad. I’m sure they will fly by.

And then….then….it’s off into the…gulp…..real world.

Why, I’ll have to have a job.

And I’ll be married.

And I’ll have a car payment and a house payment.

Hard to believe. In a year and a half (hopefully, Please God) I will be something else entirely. I will no longer be the college student rushing around everywhere, I won’t have to get up and run to the computer lab because I forgot to print something 5 minutes before it’s due, I won’t be able to just get up and throw my hair back into a messy ponytail and some old jeans and go about my day, I won’t be like this anymore.

I’ll be D’s wife. I’ll be someone’s child’s teacher.

I wonder if I’ll feel different than I do now.

I don’t think so, I feel the same way I’ve felt since I can remember.  I honestly sometimes stop whatever I’m doing, because I can’t believe how quickly my school years have gone by.

I guess it feels like they’ve flown by and crept by all at the same time.

I wonder if it feels that way for everyone?

I wonder if I’ll look back on this time 10 years from now and think about how quickly it flew by?

I wonder.

Sorry for the disjointed nature of this post, I’m just sort of throwing the thoughts out there as they come into my head.

 

8 Responses to “This time tomorrow….”

  1. Mike Says:

    Good luck with finals and the rest of the semester.

    BAGM are coming up on our 10th anniversary this spring (we got married when we were 23). The 20s fly by faster than you can even imagine.

  2. Rachel Says:

    Thanks Mike!
    Wow, 10 years, that is a big anniversary! How long were you together before you were married?
    D and I have been together for going on 3 years now. In one way I can’t remember what it was like without him and in another way I can’t believe how quickly this time has flown by.

  3. Mike Says:

    We met while living in different states…so one year long distance. Then she moved in with me while I was still in the Air Force and we married about 9 months later.

    Want another strange time passing moment? Tough. I have now been allowed to drive a vehicle by myself longer than not. Back then we had to drive in the snow a lot more and everywhere was always uphill…even back home after we got there….

    Hold on, there’s some kids walking through my yard again.

  4. Rachel Says:

    Hehe. Don’t turn into a crotchety old guy on me now Mike!
    Was living in different states hard?
    D and I were neighbors when we met, so yeah, it’s totally that whole girl next door type thing. We didn’t go to school together though, because he is 6 1/2 years older than me, so it’s not like we knew each other our entire lives or anything.

  5. Mike Says:

    We met while she was in Illinois for grad school and I was on break while moving from Texas to Georgia (on behalf of the military) so we started off at a distance besides those first couple weeks when I was home. So it wasn’t like we were used to being together and then one of us moved away.

    We kept it very casual, dated others, talked on the phone a lot and eventually decided to have her move in with me in Georgia to see if things would work out.

  6. Rachel Says:

    Awww…and it did work out!

  7. The hardest part about the real world? No longer getting to throw on jeans and a sweatshirt every-freakin-day.

  8. Rachel Says:

    MAW- I look forward to and dread those days all at the same time. My daily winter uniform is a long-sleeved t-shirt, well-worn jeans, and slouchy Ugg boots. Sometimes I pull my hair back into a ponytail or let it be curly for variety.


Leave a Reply

