Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Time For Treats December 9, 2008

Filed under: cooking — Rachel @ 10:21 am

Well everyone, I have one final tomorrow, and one on Thursday, and then I will be done for the semester! Yahoo!

Oh, and did I mention that Christmas Day is only two weeks from Thursday?

This can only mean one thing….

Time for treats!!!!!!

I think I will start making my Christmas treats this weekend and this upcoming week. And the week of Christmas.

I like baking/making stuff. A lot.  But I’d like to try my hand at a few different things this year.

I want to try to make: divinity, rock candy, pralines, and miscellaneous cookie recipies that I haven’t tried before.

I will make: oatmeal-coconut cookies, cheese wafers, fudge (I have a super simple fudge recipe, and you don’t even need a candy thermometer), and several recipes out of this thing that came with the newspaper.

I really do want to try my hand at making some new things. I made a lemonade pie at Thanksgiving that I had never made before and everyone loved it.

So what are some of your favorite holiday recipes?

Please, please, give me some. I really need some new tricks.

 

2 Responses to “Time For Treats”

  1. AZ Mom Says:

    buckeyes are a fave of mine. i don’t have a recipe but i’m sure you can google it. basically it’s chocolate dipped peanut butter balls. yum. easy one is chocolate covered pretzels with holiday sprinkles. super easy hostess gift for that on the fly invite. buy the chocolate bark – regular chocolate, not white – microwave until melted, dip, sprinkle, and set on wax paper and chill until chocolate sets. put pretzels in a nice gasket jar with a ribbon and ta da! you’re set. Martha Stewart’s most recent magazine is out with some candy ideas that look easy and yummy. invite some friends over and put on comfy clothes and holiday tunes and get to work. 🙂

  2. Rachel Says:

    D’s dad likes buckeyes, so I may have to make some. I love chocolate covered pretzels, I think I may make some this weekend. I will have to check out Martha’s mag. I’m in a cooking mood this weekend.


Leave a Reply

