Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Blarrrch! December 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rachel @ 4:57 pm

* Warning- If you are reading while eating dinner, supper, a snack, or even thinking about food, you might not want to read the rest of this. Numerous bodily functions are mentioned.

Yesterday morning, I woke up feeling funny. I turned my head and it seemed like it took ten minutes for the room to stop spinning.  Vertigo.

“What the hell did I do last night?” was my first thought. The answer? Nothing. Well, nothing that would have made me feel like I had been riding the scrambler for 8 or so hours.  Hadn’t had a drop to drink. Watched some TV with D before  going to bed. So, apparently, my body had decided to revolt against me sometime between the hours of 3:00 a.m. and 10:00 a.m. Then I remembered that I hadn’t been able to hear out of my left ear at all the day before, because of sinus drainage. I remembered that inner ear problems could cause vertigo. Problem explained.

Or so I thought.

I got up and attempted going down the stairs. Tricky, when everything seems to be falling backwards.  I finally made it downstairs and collapsed on the couch.

I didn’t stay there for long before I realized that my stomach was apparently going into reverse, and I needed to get to a bathroom. Quickly.

After puking everything up. (Translation: After puking my stomach lining up, because I hadn’t eaten anything in several hours.) I felt better. I thought that I must have vomited from being dizzy, and now I would feel better. I even felt a little hungry.  So back down the stairs for toast and orange juice.

No.

I sipped the orange juice. That was ok. I took a bite of the toast. That was not ok.  Into the bin with the toast.  Up the stairs to hop in the bath. I don’t know why, but everytime I get sick, I feel the need to spend every waking hour in the bathtub. I don’t generally  like lying in bed during the day, and this seems to help.

Well, you really haven’t lived until you’ve barfed into a wal-mart bag while sitting in a tub full of water.

After that little incident, I decided it was time for me to elect someone to be in charge of me for the day, so I picked D. He did a fabulous job, making sure I was covered up and you know, still breathing and such.

Around suppertime, I started to feel like I could eat something. After keeping down a cookie, D decided I was well enough for supper. I ate a baked potato, a bowl of grits, and some biscuits. I also guzzled two glasses of sprite.

After I got some food in me, I felt much, much better. I felt well enough to ride around and look at the Christmas lights. I even sang along to a few Christmas songs.

For a late night snack, I had two water popsicles and some wheat thins.  All of which stayed where they should.

Today, I’m feeling MUCH better.  I don’t think I feel quite 100% yet, but definitely 90%. I predict tomorrow I will be back to bouncing around and falling down.  (Heavy on the falling down part: Ice is predicted for TN!)

Coming Up- D is going to share with us the most un-PC field trip possible, complete with zebra shoes and sex offenders.

 

Leave a Reply

