Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

First Post of The New Year January 2, 2009

Filed under: good news,the internets is cheaper than therapy — Rachel @ 5:12 pm

Happy 2009 to all!

Well, this year has started off pleasantly. No big New Year’s Eve celebrations or anything, but D and I did have a very nice dinner date for New Year’s Day.

This year makes getting out of school seem even closer, because now I can say I am supposed to graduate next year. Woo Hoo!

I have 3 New Year’s Resolutions:

1. Eat Healthier Foods…no explanation needed here

2. Be More Active….do not continue to define “activity” as typing on a keyboard

3. Stop Washing My Hands SO Damn Much….seriously, this is getting ridiculous. I am a bit of a germaphobe. Ok, not a bit. A big germaphobe.  I wash my hands with scalding hot water and excessive amounts of soap  AT LEAST 10x a day. More if I’m cooking. I love to cook, but if I touch a raw egg or raw meat, my hands must be thouroughly sanitized  each and every time I am forced to touch it.  I shudder when I watch television chefs because they all seem to have a disdain for hand-washing between steps in cooking.  (Obviously, I am not one of those people who enjoys licking the batter out of the bowl….It is contaminated and must be sprayed with scalding water in the sink.)  Anyway, I have no interest in giving up my germaphobia, but I am tired of my hands being dry and cracked all the time.  Also, I think the skin on my hands is beginning some sort of rebellion against me. Not only do I get the normal cracks and flaking, I am now also getting these red angry blistery  bumps on the joints where my fingers are connected to my hands. Which according to Dr. Google  could be anything from measles to baby acne.  Hand cream does help, but then again, hand cream is easily washed away.

So those are my 3 resolutions. I know number 3 does not speak well of my overall mental health, but hey, no one is perfect.

What are your resolutions?

 

3 Responses to “First Post of The New Year”

  1. AZ MOM Says:

    those sound like grand resolutions. my hands got all whackadoo after the birth of each of my kids – washed before feeding, after diaper changing, before feeding, after changing, etc. my advice (from my friends, actually) don’t use antibacterial soap. soapy hot water is fine but the antibacterial stuff kills destroys your skin when used over and over. okay. you didn’t ask for cleansing tips.

    resolutions? i don’t make them. sad. i can’t stick to them so i figure what’s the point. i suppose, if it isn’t too late, i should put a few down. just for the heck of it.

  2. Rachel Says:

    Thanks for the tip about the antibacterial soap! Actually, I was washing them with antibacterial softsoap, and now I’m using some “satin hands” from Mary Kay that my grandmother gave me for Christmas. Already I can see a BIG improvement. I’m thinking about just pitching all the antibacterial stuff.
    I usually don’t make resolutions, but seeing as how these were things I planned on doing anyway, I decided that I would put a few down for the sake of formality. 🙂 Happy New Year to you, AZ Mom!

  3. RJLareseCasting Says:

    Hi!

    This is kind of out-of-the-blue, but I’m working on casting a television show for a major women’s network, about women with phobias. I came across your blog and was reading about you having a germ phobia. If you could email me at “RJLareseCasting@gmail.com”, I could tell you more about the show and verify that this is all legitimate. Talk to you soon.

    Best,
    RJ Larese


Leave a Reply

