Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Dog Speak January 3, 2009

Filed under: life is flippin suh-weet,Yes We Can! — Rachel @ 1:51 pm

I talk to my dog like she is a person.  This causes my family to LAUGH at me, and tell me that she probably understands key words, but the rest of it sounds like the adults in Peanuts cartoons. ( You know, “wah-wah-wah”.)

Example:

Me: “Mayzie, stop that barking and get in this house!”

Mayzie:  Looks at me for a moment, as if thinking “Who says I have to listen to YOU?”  then apparently remembers who doles out the treats around here, and runs into the house.

Me:  Looking at whoever is around, smugly. “See?! I TOLD you that she understands.”

Example 2:

Me: “What is in your mouth? Come here!”

Mayzie: Plods over to the couch, treasure still in mouth.

Me: ” It’s a piece of stuffing from your stuffed animal.  Give it to me.” Holds hand under dog’s mouth.

Mayzie:  Looks at me. Continues holding stuffing in mouth. You can tell she is thinking “No. I tore this out all by myself, and I will continue to hold the evidence of my hard work securely in my mouth. You, on the other hand, will just throw it in the kitchen trash.”

Me: “Fine, if that’s the way you’re going to be, I’ll just take it.”

(I took it out of her mouth, and she turned away from me, pouting “You took my prize.”)

Example 3:

Me: “You need a bath stinky stinky girl! Want to take a bath? A bath?”

Mayzie: Runs like hell in the opposite direction.

See? I told you she was smart.

Another example:

Me, reading the paper: “Mayzie-Jane, what should we do about the economy? What do you think girl?

Mayzie: Cocks her head to the side. (Along with the rest of America.)

While watching tv:

Me: “Look Mayzie girl! That’s Barack Obama! He’s going to become the President on January 20th! Aren’t you excited?”

Mayzie: Thumps her tail wildly.  Maybe she loves our next president as much as I do, or maybe he just looks like someone who might have a few treats in his pocket, like every other person in her life.  Either way, her reaction was correct. We are both VERY excited.

 

2 Responses to “Dog Speak”

  1. AZ MOM Says:

    very funny! i, too, believe that dogs understand EVERYTHING! and i, too, am thumping my tail wildly about our new president!

  2. Rachel Says:

    I am thinking that she needs an Obama t-shirt to wear on inauguration day.
    She surprises me every few days by picking up on some new thing. Who says old dogs can’t learn new tricks!?


Leave a Reply

