Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Books To Read In 2009 January 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rachel @ 4:12 pm

I’ll admit it. I’m addicted to reading. I take a book with me where ever I go, in hopes that I might be able to sneak in a little reading time.  I’ve been known to read books in line at the grocery store,  at the vet while waiting for my dog, at the hairdresser’s while having my hair done (Although, the same person has been doing my hair for about 3 years now, and I NEVER read when I’m in her chair. She’s such a screech. Love that woman! So I guess I haven’t read at the hairdresser’s in awhile.), in the car, in boring tool stores (if you ever visit a Lowe’s and see a woman with her nose in a book trailing six feet behind a tall guy who looks like he’s in tool heaven, come say hello!)….pretty much everywhere.  I love the feeling of a book inside my purse; even if I can’t read it, I can feel the spine and the corners through the fabric, and instantly calm myself down.  So my goal for this year is to read…gulp… 200 books.

Ok, maybe it sounds insane, but I can finish a book in a day or so, because when I have free time, the books become my sole purpose in life.  They’re like crack to me, and I have no plans on taming my addiction. (In case you haven’t noticed, I’m a very “all or nothing” sort of girl. I either love it or loathe it. Not too many in-betweens.)

So here is the place that I will record the books I read.  If I decide to reread something (which will for sure happen, I love rereading), I’ll mark it with a little *.

Books Read In 2009

1.” Possible Side Effects” by Augusten Burroughs

2. “Sellevision” by Augusten Burroughs

3. “A Wolf At The Table” by Augusten Burroughs

4. * “Ramona The Pest” by Beverly Cleary* ( My mom first read this to me when I was five years old. I love children’s literature.)

5.*”Beezus and Ramona” by Beverly Cleary *

6. *”Ramona and Her Mother” by Beverly Cleary*

7. *”Ramona’s World” by Beverly Cleary*

8. “The Miner’s Daughter” by  Gretchen Moran Laskas

9. “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian” by Sherman Alexie

10.  “What Happened to Cass McBride?” by Gail Giles

11.  “A Girl Named Zippy” by Haven Kimmel

12. “Mermaids In the Basement” by Michael Lee West

13. “Schooled” by Anisha Lakhani

14. “Looking For Alaska” by John Green

15. “Sold” by Patricia McCormick

16.* “Twilight” by Stephenie Meyer (yes, AGAIN!)*

17. *”New Moon”* by Stephenie Meyer (ditto!)*

18 *”Eclipse”* by Stephenie Meyer*

19.*”Breaking Dawn”* by Stephenie Meyer*

20. “Waiting for Normal” by Leslie Connor

21. *”Tales of a Fourth-Grade Nothing” by Judy Blume*

22.* “Fudge-a-Mania” by Judy Blume*

23. “Double Fudge” by Judy Blume

24. “Pretty Little Devils” by Nancy Holder

25. “Skylark” by Patricia MacLachlan

26. “Caleb’s Story” by Patricia MacLachlan

27. “More Perfect than the Moon” by Patricia MacLachlan

28. “Missy Violet and Me” by Barbara Hathaway

29. “Here Today” by Ann M. Martin

30 “Keeper of the Night” by Kimberly Willis Holt

31. “32 Third Graders and One Class Bunny” by Philip Done

 

3 Responses to “Books To Read In 2009”

  1. I see a theme to those titles. I am having a bit of competition with my nieces. See my post tomorrow! Join us in the bloodbath!

  2. AZ MOM Says:

    200?!? wow! i’m impressed. i just went to the library today and found out i had $19 in overdue fees. NOW LISTEN! i’ve two small and whacky kids who make most trips to the library a loathsome event. AND it really is the library’s fault. they SAID i could check out 20 fabulous books for the kids to read over the summer. how was i to know they were SERIOUS about that “read ’em in 3 weeks and return ’em” thing? i mean REALLY! 20 books in 3 stinkin’ weeks? alright, alright, i know. i’m a loser, deadbeat, citizen. but at least my fines are going to benefit a worthy cause. so i’m all too happy to pay for my sins. and i’ve marked my calendar (under husband’s watchful stink-eye) with the due date of the three i checked out today. under the boy’s library card. 🙂

  3. Rachel Says:

    MAW- I look forward to participating in the carnage! ( And I LOVE me some Augusten Burroughs, I totally wish he lived next door.)
    AZ Mom- Don’t worry about it, I am convinced all the local libraries would go out of business if I did not continue to ply them with late fees. I tend to take a book out, read it, put it away, and then get it out again…the whole time forgetting that it doesn’t actually belong to me! Buying books actually works out to be cheaper for me in some cases!


Leave a Reply

