Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Dear School People January 7, 2009

Filed under: the world around me,well shit — Rachel @ 12:04 am

Dear People that write the student calendar for my university:

Hello.  I have been privileged to attend your lovely university for the past 2 1/2 years.  As someone halfway through her junior year, I feel like I am fairly knowledgeable about the way things in the university work, which is why the calendar puzzles me so.

In what universe does it make sense for us to go back to school on a Thursday, attend our regularly scheduled Monday classes and then  go to our regular Friday classes on Friday (which, chances are, are the same as our Monday classes, thanks to MWF scheduling)?

The answer to this question is that there is NO universe where this makes sense for us to attend the same classes two days in a row.  I think that the answer that makes the most obvious sense is for us to start our regular TUESDAY classes on the TUESDAY after Martin Luther King Jr. Day.

But what do I know?

Sincerely,

Concerned Student

 

4 Responses to “Dear School People”

  1. sara Says:

    The only people who benefit from this would be people who crammed all their classes into Tuesdays and Thursdays, and maybe had a Wednesday night class. They’re thinking, “This rocks!”

    I don’t like having the same classes on consecutive days. All my poli-sci classes are on Tuesdays and Thursdays. And while all my classes this semester seem like they’ll be fun (with the possible exception of my phys ed class) I’d rather have Monday classes on Thursday and Tuesday classes on Friday.

    I’m guessing that they have Monday classes that Thursday so that Monday night classes aren’t postponed until the second week. But if someone was commuting from outside Cookeville, this would be a pain. I know a few people who take MWF classes only to limit their commutes.

    Oh well.

    (This was a long comment.)

  2. Rachel Says:

    I am with you 100% Sara. I am so not looking forward to attending the same classes two days in a row. Actually, I may not be. One of my classes has not as of yet listed a time or anything. How interesting for me. It will be like playing class roulette- maybe it’s in this room! maybe it’s at this time!

  3. Stephanie Says:

    Rachel…

    Coming from the land of the Big Orange.. where they do strange things with your class schedule just to see your freak out… because they think it’s fun…

    THIS MAKES NO SENSE!

    I’ve read the blog 3 times and I still can’t fathom a world where it makes sense….. wait…. Nope. I’ve got nothing.

  4. Rachel Says:

    Stephanie- Maybe it’s a TN thing? Maybe all that humid air gets to your brain after awhile….I mean, I’ve lived here my whole life and that would certainly explain a lot of things. 🙂


Leave a Reply

