Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

And the guard comes down January 8, 2009

Filed under: life is flippin suh-weet,the world around me — Rachel @ 1:58 pm

Yesterday, while chatting with my mom and my 17-year-old sister, my sister was griping about her schedule at school.  For some strange reason, unknown to anyone but her, she signed up for chorus this semester.

Let me explain the difference between my sister and me- In high school, I was bubbly, in every kind of extracurricular activity you could imagine, loved band, was in the chorus voluntarily, volunteered for many things, and was mostly,  the kind of girl that moms loved for their sons. (Well, mostly. More on that another time.)  My sister says that I dressed “preppy” (I just thought I dressed like everyone else?) Now don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t without issues, I just appeared to be the all-american-squeaky-clean-girl-next-door.

My sister, on the other hand, wears lots of dark clothes and shirts with skulls and pants with chains. She is in the same academic organizations as I was, but would not be caught dead doing something like band.  Don’t get me wrong, she is a great young woman, but she just doesn’t quite look the part of squeaky-clean-all-american, due to her fondness for black and slightly creepy shirts.

Anyway, back to yesterday. She was griping about how they had to do the “do-si-do” and other dances in chorus.

Sis- “Like OH EM GEE it was SOOOOO GAYYY”  ( I forgot to mention that despite our contrasting appearances, we both talk like southern valley girls. Yeah.)

Me- “Ha ha ha.  That does kind of have a hint of suck to it.”

Mom-” I think it sounds fun.”

Sis, grinning a little now- “Yeah, it actually was pretty fun.”

The mental image of my gothed-out little sister dancing with prissy little girls that are probably much like I was, makes me giggle and smile.

Let our lesson for today be that no matter how much of a  suck vibe something seems to emit, we should always try it, because it might be fun.

 

Leave a Reply

