Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Designer Babies January 8, 2009

Filed under: the world around me — Rachel @ 3:02 pm

Yesterday, while channel surfing, I came upon a show talking about “Designer Babies”.  They wre talking about how you could use this technology to choose the sex, even the hair and eye color of your  offspring.

And my first reaction was “WTF?”

Ok, I get choosing the sex of your baby if a sex-linked disorder runs in your family and you would like to prevent your children from having it. That is a valid reason. Beyond that, I honestly think it’s pretty warped.

Choosing the sex of your baby because you have a household of girls and want a boy seems ludicrous to me. If you want to control the sex of something, get a new puppy or kitten.  I am sure the animal shelter will let you choose boy or girl. I understand wanting a boy or a girl, I just don’t feel that it’s right to waste the time and resources of the reproductive clinics and doctors involved just so old Dad can have a boy on his team.  There are people in the world that would gladly give every bit of money and every possession they had just to have A BABY.  And I can guarantee you that those people do not care whether they have a boy or  girl.  A baby that lives and breathes would do.

Choosing the eye color, hair color of your offspring? The Dr. said that they can only guarantee a 90% chance that they will actually have that hair color. So what if junior doesn’t come out with blonde hair? What do you think then? Do you love him less? Do you try again, until you get your perfect result?

Don’t get me wrong, I am all for assisted reproductive technology. I think it is wonderful that so many people are helped by the technology we have today.  I hope and pray that I never have to use this technology, but I am thrilled that it is avaliable if needed.

I am just not for picking your baby’s hair or eye color. They are CHILDREN not purebred puppies.

 

4 Responses to “Designer Babies”

  1. Mike Says:

    A baby was born recently who had the gene removed that they suspect causes breast cancer. Which sounds great. My concern would be what do you do as a parent if by trying to “improve” your kid, you end up making something else worse and making their life horrible all in the effort to change eye color or even remove cancer risks.

    Interesting, complicated stuff.

  2. Rachel Says:

    Mike, I feel the same way. While this sounds good in theory, I’m not sure if there is any way to know all the possible future ramifications.

  3. Arwen Says:

    I recently discovered your blog through the Spin Cycle and have really been enjoying reading it. I’ve nominated you for an award on my “other” blog:

    http://sporschool.blogspot.com/2009/01/kreativ-blogger.html

  4. Rachel Says:

    Awesome! Thanks Arwen!


Leave a Reply

