Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Electric Exercise January 13, 2009

Filed under: the world around me — Rachel @ 1:21 am

One of my most enjoyable Christmas presents has been the Wii Fit my parents gave me.  I had a membership to one of our local gyms last year, but really didn’t enjoy/use it as much as I thought I would. I used it a lot at first, then not so much, then everyday during the summer, then pretty much not at all after school started back.

Why?

Several Reasons:

1. Inconvenient- the gym is not THAT far from my house, but going still entailed looking halfway presentable (I live in a very small town, every time I went, I saw someone I knew.), packing a gym bag, putting on gym clothes and gym shoes, and getting in the car and driving there. Hard to do all that if you have worked all day.

With the Wii Fit, all of this is eliminated. You can do it in your own living room. You can wear whatever you want.

2. Time Consuming- Once you are actually at the gym, you have to make the most of it. You will be there for at least 45 minutes or so, if you want to make the most out of getting out of the house and getting there.

Since the Wii Fit is already at your house, you can do it in 10 or 15 minute increments, whatever you have time for. It keeps a total of how long you spent on it every day.

3. Accountability- It was hard for me to go to the gym sometimes because really, I had no motivation to go. No one there was waiting for me.  No one knew whether or not I spent 5 minutes on an eliptical, and 45 minutes half-assedly riding a stationary bike. I hate weighing myself in the first place, but the gym only had those crappy Dr’s office scales. Now, from my short stint in nursing school, I know how to operate one.  I can also tell you that unless those scales are perfectly balanced (which they probably aren’t, due to people who don’t know how to use them handling them day in and day out), they are notoriously unreliable.  They give you a vague idea of what you weigh.

The Wii Fit scolds you a little when you miss a day or two. You have to take a “body” test every day, which tells you your exact weight and BMI. You also set goals. When you lose weight, it tells you how much more you have to go until you reach your goal. For example: my most recent goal is to lose 5 lbs by February 9. Today it informed me that I had 4.2 lbs left to lose until I reached my goal. If I had weighed myself on a scale at the gym, it most likely would not have showed that slight of a change, and I probably would have felt  a little discouraged.

4. Correct Way to Exercise- The gym I went to did have personal trainers, but they came at a hefty cost.  I really don’t have money to blow every week on someone telling me how to exercise. Plus, if you don’t get along with your trainer, you probably won’t want to go anymore.

The Wii has two trainers to pick from, and they show you how to do the exercises, so you know that you are doing them right. It doesn’t hurt that it gives you lots of praise when you do the exercises really well.

5. People- This is going to make me sound totally antisocial, but my most hated aspect of the gym was probably the other people there. Now don’t get me wrong, I certainly did not hate the people themselves, it is just hard to exercise when the gym is crowded. People would hog machines. This particular gym did not have child-care, so people brought their kids with them, and the kids ran around and generally made it unpleasant for everyone else. The staff said nothing about this, probably because they did not care to pay for child-care.  People liked to show off. Lots of teeny-bopper girls in teeny-tiny shorts were there only to hang around the weight-lifting guys.  The girl that did JUMPING JACKS on the treadmill particuarly annoyed me…hello…that is not even the correct way to use the equipment! People who did not spray the equipment with disinfectant were just plain gross.

You are the only person using the Wii Fit,  so you don’t have to worry about anyone judging you. No one is going to look at you funny if you can’t run at 5 mph on the treadmill for 45 minutes.

So I guess that the Wii Fit is the way for me to well, get fit.  It’s not that I have anything against gyms, I really enjoy the free one that my school provides, I guess that particular gym wasn’t the one for me.   I am someone who really needs to know how they are progressing, so  I feel like I will lose more weight with the Fit.

My first goal is to lose 5 lbs by Feb. 9, and then after I lose that weight, I want to lose 5 more. Who knows? Maybe by this time next year, I’ll be totally in shape!

 

4 Responses to “Electric Exercise”

  1. AZ Mom Says:

    i almost bought one of these. love your break down of the advantages vs. Gym. the girl that did jumping jacks on the treadmill! oh my GOD! i about fell on the floor picturing that! i’ll never be able to look at the treadmill the same again. have posted the award on a post at my blog. hope i did it justice.

  2. Rachel Says:

    AZ Mom- I couldn’t believe her either! I was like “What PLANET are you from?!”
    Glad you got your award!!!

  3. My husband got me a Wii Fit for Christmas and I have to say I love it. I am not in shape, have never managed to get to a gym more than 4 or 5 times in a row and have truthfully never been interested in exercise. But, I have been trying to lose weight and this is a way to exercise regularly that’s fun.

    Only problem is the Wii is my 18 yo and she has hopes of moving out this summer. Which means we’ll have to buy one for ourselves.

  4. Rachel Says:

    TrueBlueTexan- You will definitely have to get one of your own! I love mine so much!


Leave a Reply

