Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Ring Ring January 13, 2009

Filed under: good news,life is flippin suh-weet — Rachel @ 5:24 pm

So I guess I should let the cat out of the bag and tell you that D and I are currently engagement ring shopping. We have known that we wanted to get married pretty much from Day 1, but we wanted to make sure that we got the perfect ring for me.  This is really important to me because I do not want to “trade-up”  like some women do. I just don’t get it. I feel like an engagement ring is something you only get once, not after you are already married. (If you did this, please don’t take offense, it’s just not the way for me to go.)

I’ve narrowed it down to the cut I want (cushion-cut) and I know that I want a white gold or platinum band. We found a ring last weekend that I think could quite possibly be the “one” but I want to look around and make sure we are getting our money’s worth.  So I found a website that the lady at the jewelry store had mentioned- bluenile.com.  They seemed to have quite a large selection, and they had a diamond that I was particularly interested in, for cheaper than the jewelry store price, but I am just not sure about buying that huge of an investment online. After all, you can’t really see it.  I want to make sure that thing sparkles in the shade, not just under the lights at the jewelry store.

What do you think about buying things like this online? Worth the bargain or should you make sure you are getting what you pay for?

 

4 Responses to “Ring Ring”

  1. AZ Mom Says:

    first off, WHA-HOO!
    second, i sort of think it’s better to see with your eyes than online. now, if they have a really grand return policy and/or satisfaction guarantee AND you buy with a credit card that has purchase protection – so you have doubled-down on your buyer protection – AND the savings is significant, then it might be worth a go. i’d do a google search on complaints, too. just to be sure.
    also, don’t discount that in a down-turned economy you might find some really great deals at antique stores. i know, i know, it will have had a previous life. but sometimes those ridiculous women who waited to “trade up” have married men who also thought they might “trade up”, if you know what i mean, and now that ring has been traded in for the cash to get that boob job. i’m just sayin’…
    no matter what you do, where find it, wherever you go, don’t allow the details bog you down too much for this should be the time when you fly on the wings of happy things for a future to look forward to with your beloved.
    happy shopping!
    hugs…

  2. Rachel Says:

    Thanks AZ Mom, I am trying not to get mired down in all the details, since this is such a happy exciting time! We have not looked at any antique stores as of yet, but that is a very good suggestion. I sort of feel like the ring we saw last weekend might be the one, but again, looking is fun, so why not do as much looking as you can?

  3. movindowntheroad Says:

    how exciting! I’d buy something you see in person. All the way.

  4. Rachel Says:

    I am thinking that I will buy something I see in person, the more I think about the online thing, the more it seems like a bad idea.


Leave a Reply

