Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

You Tell Me January 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rachel @ 2:03 pm

I was reading an interesting blog today and it got me to wondering. ( Please click the link and read the blog so that you won’t think I’m totally out there.)

The blog was about kids seeing parents in the buff, which I had never really thought much about before, honestly.  I clicked on the thread her blog refers to and honestly, I was surpirsed about how many people were so, well, prudish about being naked  in front of their kids. Obviously, I can’t have much of an opinion about this because I don’t have any kids, but I have no issue with it.  To me, nudity does not equal sex.  I see no reason for the grown-up human anatomy to be such a mystery.  I mean, if you have a child that goes to daycare, then, news flash, they probably see somebody naked once in awhile.  It’s no big deal when you’re little, so I really don’t get what the big deal is with seeing your own parents bathing or changing clothes.  I mean, bathing and changing clothes are not sexual in the least. Personally, I think I would have a much bigger issue with my (future) kids seeing me in sexy underwear than totally nude.

Really, I think it’s healthy for kids to see what real bodies look like. I mean, in the supermarket, you see tabloids by the checkout with nearly-nude bikini-clad women, and kids are bound to see that.  I want to make sure my children know that most women  don’t look like that and that is perfectly fine.

When should it stop? I don’t know, I don’t think there is any “age-limit” I just think whenever somebody feels uncomfortable is when it should stop.  Some people said that when they are old enough to ask questions, it is time to stop, and I just don’t feel the same way.  I think it’s great for kids to be informed about their bodies and others bodies.  Of course, this is coming from someone who adamantly believes that children should never feel ashamed of their bodies and should never learn stupid words for a penis or vagina-would you call your toe anything but a toe?

So really, I hope I didn’t offend anyone, this is just my personal opinion, as someone who does not have children. If you have a different opinion, then that is what works for you, it’s whatever you are comfortable with. So what is  your opinion on this?

 

2 Responses to “You Tell Me”

  1. movindowntheroad Says:

    when my kids started squatting down to see the string from my tampon when I got out of the shower, I started using a robe and shutting the door. Basically, when you start feeling embarrassed as a parent, it’s time to stop walking around in the nude. Otherwise, go for it!

  2. Rachel Says:

    Movindowntheroad- I agree with you- I think that when it gets embarrassing for anyone, it’s time to stop. I just found it sort of funny that parents of infants were concerned about their infants seeing them in the nude!


Leave a Reply

