Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Spin Cycle: Rhyme Time January 17, 2009

Filed under: spin cycle,Uncategorized — Rachel @ 5:09 pm

This week’s latest spin cycle from Sprite’s Keeper is to write a poem.

I choose to write about D, the love of my life who enjoys tormenting me on occasion.

“An Ode To D”

You fart in bed;

Then you choose to pull the covers over my head

You think it’s really funny when I get mad,

Even if you did something bad.

You hide behind doors and snore all night;

Both of these things give me a fright!

You tip me backwards in the computer chair just to give me a scare,

Although you are careful not to let me fall and muss my hair.

We have races on the sidewalk, and you often let me win,

Just so you can see me laugh and grin.

You buy me coke icees when I’m feeling blue,

And 44 oz Big Gulps too.

You never complain when we have to stop the car so I can pee,

You know it’s because of all the drinks you buy me.

You put a blanket on me and turn off the light,

When you see that I’ve fallen asleep on the couch for the night.

You wash my car and fix what I break,

You know that wherever we go, we’ll probably be late.

You like when I live you little surprises,

Like funny drawings, rubber frogs, and moustache disguises.

You laugh at all my jokes, even when I forget the punch lines.

You are always my favorite Valentine.

We dance in the kitchen, and chase the dogs in the basement.

In my heart, you have the number one placement.

So there’s my spin, and my ode to D. I had a lot of fun writing this, my favorite spin cycle by far.

 

8 Responses to “Spin Cycle: Rhyme Time”

  1. How Suessical! This is a wonderful poem and I really hope D likes it! You’re linked and I’m impressed!

  2. I think you may have my husband there. What is it with men and the chair tipping thing? Sheesh.

    And we’ll just not talk about the farts.

    Nicely done.

  3. phhhst Says:

    I like your spin and your poem. It was a lot of fun to read.

  4. Rachel Says:

    Sprite’s Keeper- Thank you! I loved your spin! D did love it, he needed some cheering up yesterday and this made him laugh.

    TrueBlueTexan- I have no idea why they like to tip us backwards in chairs! The computer chair doesn’t scare me, since it even if it did tip over, it’s on carpet, but one time we were sitting on this small garden bench and he kept leaning it backwards and it did fall over! I was so mad! Thanks for reading it!

    phhhst- Thank you! It was a lot of fun to write!

  5. Debbie Says:

    Your poem made me think of my husband too.

  6. ~ Says:

    That was really creative and I loved it! Thanks for writing!

  7. Shangrila Says:

    I’ll risk being a copycat, and say that this reminded me of my darling husband, too! (Except that instead of tipping my chair, when we were teenagers he used to hold me down and do that icky, drooly, dangling-spit thing that guys are so fond of. Ewww.)

  8. Rachel Says:

    Glad I could make so many think of their dear hubs!
    Shangrila- GROSS! D often chases me around the house with a BOOGER though, so he is just as bad. If he spit on me though, I think I’d have to kick his ass.


Leave a Reply

