Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Seriously, who cares? February 10, 2009

Filed under: the world around me — Rachel @ 10:09 am

By now I’m sure you have heard all the razzamatazz about Michael Phelps smoking weed and losing his endorsments and being banned from swimming and all that jazz.

I for one, think it  is beyond dumb.

Ok- First of all, let me tell you that I don’t do drugs (I’m naturally goofy) so that isn’t why I’m siding with him.

I mean, come on, it’s not like the man is a rocket scientest or brain surgeon and he’s endangering people’s lives or something- he swims in a pool all day and eats 14,000 calories (and people are SURPRISED that he smokes weed?).

Don’t give me that B.S. about him being a “role model” for kids and how this is oh so damaging to kids…it’s not.  When did we ever get the idea that it was ok to expect other people to be perfect? If he’s like your kids favorite person, then just tell your kids that he’s a grown-up, and grown-ups sometimes make mistakes.  Really, how many perfect people do you know? Hmm? That’s right, none.

I guess that my point is that it’s not like he went out and killed someone. I don’t think someone so young with such a bright future deserves to be crucified for doing something that, ok, maybe wasn’t the best idea, but it wasn’t anything that was hurting anyone else.  I hate how people in our society are so quick to point the finger of blame and take everything so personally, as if people are doing things just to them, rather than people just goofing up and not doing it to hurt anyone.

So, how about a quote from Bob Marley (another, ah, herb connoisseur, shall we say) “Before you point your fingers, make sure yours are clean.”

 

Leave a Reply

