Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

The Sound Of My Life… February 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rachel @ 6:17 pm

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about poetry (probably because I am taking an A-MAZING class about reading and writing) and I’ve been noticing what great poetry is found in a lot of my favorite song lyrics.

So today, I have for you a few examples:

First, “The Rock Show” by Blink-182. Why? It reminds me of my high school days (“seventeen without a purpose or direction, we don’t owe anyone a fucking explanation”

Hanging out behind the club, on the weekend.
Acting stupid, getting drunk with my best friends.
I couldn’t wait for the summer and the Warped Tour.
I remember it’s the first time that I saw her- there.

She’s getting kicked out of school cause she’s failing.
I’m kinda nervous, cause I think all her friends hate me.
She’s the one, she’ll always be there.
She took my hand, and I made it I swear.

Because I fell in love with the girl at the rock show.
She said “What?” and I told her that I didn’t know.
She’s so cool, gonna sneak in through her window.
Everything’s better when she’s around-
I can’t wait till her parents go out of town-
I fell in love with the girl at the rock show.

When we said we were gonna move to Vegas-
I remember the look her mother gave us.
17, without a purpose or direction.
We don’t owe anyone a fucking explanation.

I fell in love with the girl at the rock show.
She said “What?” and I told her that I didn’t know.
She’s so cool, gonna sneak in through her window.
Everything’s better when she’s around.
I can’t wait till her parents go out of town.
I fell in love with the girl at the rock show.

Black and white picture of her on my wall.
I waited for her call, she always kept me waiting.
And if I ever got another chance, I’d still ask her to dance.
Because she kept me waiting.

I fell in love with the girl at the rock show.
She said “What?” and I told her that I didn’t know.
She’s so cool, gonna sneak in through her window.
Everything’s better when she’s around-
I can’t wait till her parents go out of town-
I fell in love with the girl at the rock show.

With the girl at the rock show.
With the girl at the rock show.
(I’ll never forget tonight)
With the girl at the rock show…

Second: “Title and Registration” by Death Cab for Cutie. Why? It reminds me of times in my life when I wasn’t feeling like everything was holding together perfectly(failed relationships, friendships, etc), but somehow still had hope that everything would be ok, and I wasn’t the only one to blame.

The glove compartment isn’t accurately named
And everybody knows it.
So i’m proposing a swift orderly change.

Cause behind its door there’s nothing to keep my fingers warm
And all i find are souvenirs from better times
Before the gleam of your taillights fading east
To find yourself a better life.

I was searching for some legal document
As the rain beat down on the hood
When i stumbled upon pictures i tried to forget
And that’s how this idea was drilled into my head

Cause it’s too important
To stay the way it’s been

There’s no blame for how our love did slowly fade
And now that it’s gone it’s like it wasn’t there at all
And here i rest where disappointment and regret collide
Lying awake at night

There’s no blame for how our love did slowly fade
And now that it’s gone it’s like it wasn’t there at all
And here i rest where disappointment and regret collide
Lying awake at night (up all night)
When i’m lying awake at night.

Third: “Fat Bottomed Girls” by Queen. Why? I love this song. I can listen to it and automatically make myself feel better. I mean, who couldn’t love it?

Are you gonna take me home tonight
Ah down beside that red firelight
Are you gonna let it all hang out
Fat bottomed girls
You make the rockin world go round

Hey I was just a skinny lad
Never knew no good from bad
But I knew life before I left my nursery
Left alone with big fat fanny
She was such a naughty nanny
Heap big woman you made a bad boy out of me
Hey hey!

Ive been singing with my band
Across the wire across the land
I seen evry blue eyed floozy on the way
But their beauty and their style
Went kind of smooth after a while
Take me to them dirty ladies every time

Oh wont you take me home tonight?
Oh down beside your red firelight
Oh and you give it all you got
Fat bottomed girls you make the rockin world go round
Fat bottomed girls you make the rockin world go round

Hey listen here
Now your mortgages and homes
I got stiffness in the bones
Aint no beauty queens in this locality (I tell you)
Oh but I still get my pleasure
Still got my greatest treasure
Heap big woman you gonna make a big man out of me
Now get this

Oh you gonna take me home tonight (please)
Oh down beside your red firelight
Oh you gonna let it all hang out
Fat bottomed girls you make the rockin world go round
Fat bottomed girls you make the rockin world go round
Get on your bikes and ride

Oooh yeah them fat bottomed girls
Fat bottomed girls
Yeah yeah yeah
Fat bottomed girls
Yes yes

Fourth? “Anyone Else But You” by the Moldy Peaches. It describes me and D perfectly, and I’m not even sure why.

You're a part time lover and a full time friend
The monkey on your back is the latest trend
I don't see what anyone can see, in anyone else
But you

I kiss you on the brain in the shadow of a train
I kiss you all starry eyed, my body's swinging from side to side
I don't see what anyone can see, in anyone else
But you

Here is the church and here is the steeple
We sure are cute for two ugly people
I don't see what anyone can see, in anyone else
But you

The pebbles forgive me, the trees forgive me
So why can't, you forgive me?
I don't see what anyone can see, in anyone else
But you

I will find my nitch in your car
With my MP3, DVD, rumple-packed guitar
I don't see what anyone can see, in anyone else
But you

Du du du du du du dudu
Du du du du du du dudu
Du du du du du du dudu du

Up up down down left right left right B A start
Just because we use cheats doesn't mean we're not smart
I don't see what anyone can see, in anyone else
But you

You are always trying to keep it real
I'm in love with how you feel
I don't see what anyone can see, in anyone else
But you

We both have shiny happy fits of rage
You want more fans, I want more stage
I don't see what anyone can see, in anyone else
But you

Don Quijote was a steel driving man
My name is Adam I'm your biggest fan
I don't see what anyone can see, in anyone else
But you

Squinched up your face and did a dance
You shook a little turd out of the bottom of your pants
I don't see what anyone can see, in anyone else
But you

Du du du du du du dudu
Du du du du du du dudu
Du du du du du du dudu du
But you
 

Leave a Reply

