Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

I Really, Really, Really HATE Spam February 24, 2009

Filed under: crap people buy,nerdiness — Rachel @ 9:29 am

So, I’ve been getting a lot of spam in my email here lately.

What pisses me off?

The spam is coming to my university email, which just hits a little too close to home.

The kicker?

I got one spam today that addressed me BY NAME offering me a “job” filling out online surveys and participating in “focus groups”.

Now obviously, I know this is a hoax (not something I’d be interested in anyway, but googled it and found several references to the spam factor, not the legit factor), but I have gotten several weird emails over the course of the last few weeks in this email account, and it just kind of pisses me off.

Why?

Because this is the email that I use for conducting all my professional(esque) stuff. Contacting professors, ordering online, and more of my personal keeping in touch stuff. I have a few other emails, but this is my main one.

It isn’t the fact that I’m getting the spams so much as the fact that they’re making it to the inbox. 2 of my other emails just automatically send that crap to the trash.

So hey, university people, improve your spam blockers! I know I’m not the only person with this problem, several of my friends have gotten this crap too. What worries me is that someone will get the “job” offer and respond, thinking that it’s legit, and end up paying money to this hack for a “job”.

 

2 Responses to “I Really, Really, Really HATE Spam”

  1. I get spam to my sprite keeper email inbox all the time. Unfortunately, “Sprite” has a sexual connotation somehow and the bottom of the barrell companies are spamming me with offers. Yuck!

  2. Rachel Says:

    Ew, Sprite’s Keeper, sexual spam is the WORST! I get some of that occasionally too, and I’m like “I am the teacher of small children! I taught Sunday School for pete’s sake!” LOL


Leave a Reply

