Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Please Explain April 21, 2009

Filed under: crap people buy — Rachel @ 10:03 pm

Now it’s time for a rant social commentary here at Burning The Souffle.

We at Burning The Souffle, Inc. try our damndest never to offend anyone, but golly gee, there are just sometimes when you feel a good old fashioned get-up-on-your-soapbox sermon coming on.

This is one of those times.

First, let me preface by saying that, as a very liberal-minded individual, there are not a whole lot of things that shock, offend, or even rattle me.  Seriously. I am very much a “it’s your life, live it the way you want to” kind of person. Want to dye your hair strange colors? Go right ahead. Pierce every square inch of skin? Cool.  Tattoos? Why not?

I say that first, so you will know that I am not Miss Holier-Than-Thou, no not by any means.

Onto the issue:

When did it become ok for little girls to start dressing like hoochie mamas?

Seriously…I do NOT think it is ok for little girls to wear sweatpants with ANYTHING printed on the butt. Seriously? Ick.  I see so many little girls in t-shirts everyday that range from the mildly offensive to the flat out suggestive. Ick.  (Ex: Your Boyfriend is About to Become My Next Assignment. Ah yes, teach our girls to turn into boyfriend stealing hussies. Good one.)

When did this become ok? Why do we seem to be in such a hurry for our little girls to grow up? Why do 9 year olds need highlights in their hair?  Why would you buy your kids sweatpants with “sweet” written across the butt? It’s tasteless, tacky, and unfair to our kids.

Kids have a right to be kids, they don’t need to be made into mini-adults.

 

4 Responses to “Please Explain”

  1. kimberly Says:

    I couldn’t agree more. I am still shocked when I am shopping for my niece in the girls section of department stores and find thong panties and padded bras. What’s up with that?

  2. Rachel Says:

    kimberly, i have yet to see the little gal thongs, but that is DISGUSTING. who in the heck would buy that for a kid? grooossss.

  3. beagoodmom Says:

    Tell me about it! I had a hard time finding a Halloween costume for Geetle last year. No pirate costumes, just “sexy pirates.” No fairies, just “sexy fairies” When did “witches” start wearing mini skirts? I thought they were all pretty much the mumu type. Seriously.

  4. Rachel Says:

    I know! It’s disgusting! When I was little, I had a witch costume that was a black tent like sack. …you know…what witches in stories wear. The most risque I might have gotten was a flapper costume that had fishnet pantyhose….but my mom made the flapper dress, so it came down to my knees. Cute, but still appropriate for a 9 year old.


Leave a Reply

