Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Numerous Things, None of Which Really Have Anything To Do With One Another April 23, 2009

Filed under: the world around me,unsolicited advice — Rachel @ 5:27 pm

So,  even though I don’t really watch that much tv (don’t get me wrong, I have no problem with tv, but I just never seem to be around/awake when the shows I like come on) I do watch the news in the mornings. Which, really, half the time, is not so much for the news factor, but it helps me manage my time better, i.e., if I see that the local news is going off and Good Morning America is coming on, then I know that I only have about 30 minutes or so til I need to be out the door).

One thing that caught my attention the other day was the big drama between Miss Cali and Perez Hilton. Now if  you know me, you probably already know what I think, but hey, it’s my blog, I can write what I want.  I’m going to have to agree with the Perez Hilton side of this.  I am a supporter of gay rights, but even if I was not, I would still say that she should have lost the competition (how I feel about beauty pageants is a whole ‘nother rant entirely, maybe for another day), strictly on the basis of just flat out prejudice/bigotry.  Why do I feel this way? Ok, what if she made a discriminatory remark about a person that is black? or Asian? Native American? Indian? Whatever?  It’s the same deal….she blatantly discriminated against a group of people, and that is just not cool.  I agree that you have a right to voice your opinions, but you never have the right to discriminate against anyone, and I don’t care who you are.  Not cool Miss Cali, not cool at all.  In my own humble opinion, I think it’s terrible that we’ve turned marriage into something that is all about sex, and not love. Everyone has a right to love and be loved, and that’s all I have to say about that.

Second order of business…so I know this woman is getting love from everywhere, but I just have to give her a shout out to- Susan Boyle! I think she is a fabulous singer, I hope to hear more from her soon.

Now onto my next controversial topic- Today I heard that the FDA just recently approved the morning-after (plan B) pills for 17 year olds without a prescription. What do I think? I think it’s a good thing, and I don’t know why anyone could be up in arms about this. Seriously. There are too many unwanted pregnancies/children, and if we can do something to help prevent this, then I say kudos to that.  Some people say that it will cause teenagers to be more promiscuous, and to that I say, “for real?” Maybe you don’t know this but, uh, a LOT of teenagers are ALREADY promiscuous, I don’t think the avaliablity of another form of birth control is going to change this. Anyone can walk into a store and buy condoms and yet, lots of teenagers don’t use them! Some people say that it’s keeping their parents from being informed about the welfare of their children. What seventeen year old would ever tell their parents they were having sex? Probably only one that was already pregnant/had gotten someone pregnant. I guess my point is that 17 year olds are not very different from 18 year olds, and are fully capable of doing whatever they want anyway. My feeling is that if we can prevent unwanted pregnancies, it’s better for everyone.

 

2 Responses to “Numerous Things, None of Which Really Have Anything To Do With One Another”

  1. Mike Says:

    I’m shocked that anybody watches the beauty pageants or cares what the contestants say. Was it one or two years ago that one of them didn’t know where Iraq was?

    As for the morning-after pill, if that is going to be sold to 17+ does that mean that they will have to sign for it at the counter? Will they have to have their parents permission if they are not yet 18? Or will they truly be able to anonymously by the pill?

  2. Rachel Says:

    Mike, I am with you about the beauty pageants, I could not care less about what they say, it just burns me up when I hear about people getting kudos for being flat-out prejudiced.
    As for the morning-after pill, I believe that they will not have to have their parents permission anymore, and will truly be allowed to anonymously buy it. Of course, that may not be accurate, but that is the way that I understood it on the news.


Leave a Reply

