Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

The Love List June 20, 2009

Filed under: life is flippin suh-weet — Rachel @ 10:18 pm

Wow.  Apologies for the long hiatus there.  I must make a confession, it’s not that I haven’t had time to write so much, as the fact that I just couldn’t think of much to write about.  Actually, scratch that, because I started many posts only not to finish them because well, every single one of them was me complaining about something, and I’m really not that kind of person. I promise. I do use this blog as a sounding board for my rants that are too weird or embarassing to voice to the people I know in the “Real World” (is that weird, that I feel more comfortable voicing embarassing stuff to the internets rather than people I know???) (Although some family members, such as D, my parents, and my sister, hear it all anyway.) In person, I am not (generally) whiny, ranty (is that a word?), or critical.  I am (generally) cheerful, happy, and open-minded.  So, since I don’t want to come across as a whiny mean bitch, I decided to compile a list of the things that make me happy. Enjoy.

1.  My dog makes me happy. That might seem like sort of a “duh” thing, but seriously, she cracks me up and melts my heart all at the same time.  For example, right now she is outside on the porch, barking furiously at some perceived threat (right now the “threat” is my sister, who is outside just out of view of the porch. While Mayzie-Jane knows that my sister is not a threat, she can’t see her from the porch, but she knows someone is there and feels like she has to sound the alarm. Good dog.) She does other things that range from the adorable (sitting patiently outside the bathroom door while I pee), to the cute (resting her head on her mangled cow toy and looking at me soulfully) to the bizzare (leaving the living room everytime D (actually anyone, but D seems to always be the one who accidentally bumps it)  touches a certain floor lamp.  I love my girl.

2. The fact that D and I are easily entertained. Seriously this is a good thing, especially right now. I believe that it is important to remember that gainfully employed does not always equal money to squander frivolously. After things like school, rent, and food are paid for, there isn’t always much to throw around. (Please don’t get me wrong, we aren’t destitute or anything like that, just young). Luckily for us we are easily entertained.  We do things like playing wii (our current favorite is monopoly for wii), go camping, going kayaking (we do each have our own kayaks), going to bookstores, going to parks, etc. We don’t need to spend a lot to have a good time. One thing we actually do spend money on is going out to eat.  I love to cook, but damn, it’s often time consuming, and for only 2 people (one of whom is EXTREMELY picky-D!) it’s actually cheaper to go out to eat most of the time. (Seriously, it really is for us-I like eating things like salmon, chicken salad, you know, chick food. D likes eating pizza and chicken tenders.  We go out and get what we want, and no one is unhappy.) (Don’t get me wrong, we do cook…sometimes.) (Updated to add that I have cooked my last 6 meals totally all on my own.)

3.  Kids- If it weren’t for kids, I would have no job, so obviously I must like them (or I would have chosen a different field of work).  Oh sure, they are cute and all that jazz, but mainly why I put them here is because they are HILARIOUS. Kids love an audience, and they will keep doing ANYTHING as long as you clap for them and praise them.  They are just so un-self-concious.  I love how if you tell them they are pretty/handsome/clever/whatever they just say “I know.”  That’s the best.

4. Speaking of kids, they bring me to my next topic….birth control.  Maybe  it’s not so nice to list that after kids, but damn it, as much as I love kids, sometimes they also make me want to pull my hair out. How glad I am that I do not have one of the little darlings of my own right now. Case in point: D and I were on vacation a few weekends ago, and hiking down this trail. Now the trail is not that diffucult, but not one you would let your kid run ahead of you on (there was a little climbing and careful manuevering needed so that you did not fall off the side of the (v.v.steep) hill). Well this one little shit darling  kept running ahead of her group, right on our heels. Shrieking every step “I’m an adventure!”. This was cute. Once. By the time we got to the bottom of the trail,  I could have just about tied my own tubes, then and there.  I am sorry, but listening to “I’m an adventure!” plus her mother SCREAMING at her every two seconds to come back to her wore my patience thin. (Note to mother: If she doesn’t come back to you the FIRST FREAKING TIME, you GO TO HER AND BRING HER BACK.) Honestly, I was just as concerned for the kid’s safety as I was annoyed by her. People, watch your kids!!!!!! Gave me a new appreciation for those little blue and green pills.  (Seriously people, I keep having all these weird pg dreams, like EVERY night. Jeez.)

5. Our anniversary, which is this month. Three years. : ) Damn, that is a long time! Seriously. I am not very old (well, neither is D for that matter, but he IS 6 1/2 years older than me. Ha ha D.) Three years is a fairly big chunk of my life.  We have had a lot of ups and downs (although many, many, many, more ups than downs) but we are still together.  I know to some people that’s not very long, but we ARE young, and I don’t know of many people our age that have lasted this long.  (One bit of assvice to other  people in relationships: It takes work. Every day is not going to be all lovey-dovey. Sometimes you will fight. Sometimes you will want to take back all of your toys and go home. But you work  it out. )

6. My friends…Gorgeous, divine, hilarious, generous people. I love them so. I would be lost without them.  One friend sends me text messages from her dog, another drove over an hour just to have lunch with me, one volunteered himself to help me move things into the new place (I mean, who VOLUNTEERS  to help someone move. Only divine and generous people, that’s who) (might I add he VOLUNTEERED his ONLY days off?!), another got up early to make me breakfast when we were working on a school project together….I could go on and on. A seriously awesome group of people.

I could go on and on about SO many more things, but I think that I will wrap it up here, partially because it’s taken me DAYS to finish this post (not because it was hard to write, but because I had a lot going on this week!) I promise to (try to) reform and blog more, but you will have to give me ideas for blogs. Ask me anything. I am an open book.

 

Leave a Reply

