Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Telenovela June 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rachel @ 11:00 pm

So, I’m sitting here, working on some biology homework, watching some TLC on the TV, when an advertisement for J&K+8 “special announcement show” came on.

I am rabidly curious.

I mean, I guess the writing is pretty much on the wall. D-I-V-O-R-C-E. I feel mildly bad, because I have really been wondering for a long time when this was going to happen, but then again, they are the ones with a TV show putting it out there for everyone to see, so I guess I am SUPPOSED  to be curious.

I am terrible for thinking that I deserve some sort of award for prognosticating this long ago. Sometime around their “vow renewal” show. It just seemed like they were trying too hard then.

I normally don’t watch much tv, usually because it either a) does not interest me, or b)during the school year, I just don’t have the time, but during the summer, I’ve been watching a little more, mostly when doing my online class. (Don’t laugh, if I don’t have something on to distract me a little bit, I can’t stay away from teh internets). I’ve noticed several interesting (and not so interesting things).

1. “Little People Big Pregnancy”-Love it! These people are so likeable, I think they could move in next door and we could be friends. Refreshing change from all the million-kids family shows.

2. “Cake Boss”-I like this one too. I like cake. I like people who yell. I like this show.

3. “Secret Life of the American Teenager”-Meh, I’ve never seen it. It looks kind of cheesy. I lived the life of an American teenager,  and not that long ago. I know what teenagers do. I don’t need to watch it again.

4. “16 and pregnant”-I like this one too. Mainly because I am glad I am not 16 and pregnant. And because I was 16 once, but not pregnant.  I like watching real people better than scripted shows, so maybe this is why I like this one better than the “Secret Life” one.   And sometimes I think I will be 16 in my mind forever. (Seriously, if I am with my parents, I can’t help but fall into the habit of asking them if I can do things.  Sometimes it boggles my mind that I AM A GROWN-UP! I CAN EAT ALL THE FRUITY PEBBLES AND NO ONE CAN SAY ANYTHING! I CAN WEAR WHATEVER I WANT! Of course, being able to do these things makes them much, much less fun. :/ )

 

2 Responses to “Telenovela”

  1. beagoodmom Says:

    I watched the Little People Big Pregnancy show last week too. I was struck by how hard it must have been for her to get around. She said her ankles and knees are weak, and it showed. Then the baby belly and the center of gravity issues. I felt for her.

  2. Rachel Says:

    I did too BAGM, I felt for the dad too because he was nervous about putting the car seat in the car with the baby in it, he was afraid he wouldn’t be able to lift it. It really made me think about what we take for granted. I keep a 1 year old during the week and don’t think anything of carrying her car seat into the house when she falls asleep in it or something, but it would be much different if I were 2 feet shorter.


Leave a Reply

