Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Delicious Recipe June 23, 2009

Filed under: cooking — Rachel @ 12:29 pm

Do you ever get burned out on fixing the same old thing all the time? I do. I feel sort of like I have exhausted all of the recipes I know-I am a good cook, but living in a small town sometimes limits what I can cook. Don’t get me wrong, it isn’t THAT small, we have several grocery stores, but they don’t carry a lot of specialty items.  For example, I love Rachael Ray’s show, and I think that her food always looks delicious, but I looked at one of her recipes and it has not one, but 3 ingredients I know I could not find in the stores here. We don’t typically have fresh herbs or specialty cheeses, so that can stop me from fixing a lot of “food network” type stuff.

Yesterday though, I was looking through some of D’s mom’s cookbooks for some fresh ideas. I found several recipes that look SO good, but I haven’t tested them yet, so I won’t put them here. This one however, I made for my sister and I for lunch. It was delicious! And it totally tastes like something you would get at a restaurant. Here you go:

Curried Tuna and Apple Sandwiches

1/4 cup of mayo (I used regular Miracle Whip, I don’t like mayo.)

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon curry powder (I used yellow)

1/8 teaspoon of garlic (I actually forgot to put this in and it still tasted fine.)

1 6 once packet of tuna (The original recipe called for canned albacore, but I prefer the kind that comes in a pouch.)

1 small granny smith apple, chopped

1 celery rib, chopped

1/4 a cup of raisins (I like raisins, so I might add more next time)

2 tablespoons diced onion (I used a vidalia onion, I think they are the best, they are slightly sweet and not so pungent.)

Whole grain bread.

Mix the first 4 ingredients. Stir in the tuna. Stir in the next 4 ingredients. Spread on bread and enjoy!

See, it is super easy! And SO good. This recipe says it makes 3 sandwiches, but my sister and I each had a sandwich, and there is more than enough for 2 more sandwiches later.   It also says that it is “10 minutes or less” but I sort of disagree-it didn’t take long at all to stir it all together, but it did take a little extra prep time to chop all the ingredients. Not very long though. I would say it was 15-20 minutes total for me.

 

Leave a Reply

