Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Good Summer Recipe July 10, 2009

Filed under: cooking — Rachel @ 10:55 am

This blog, contrary to Dr. Google’s beliefs, is NOT a cooking blog. Sorry googlers, I don’t know how to make a souffle. I can’t tell you whether it will rise when it’s raining or even what goes into a souffle, other than beaten, separated eggs, which have to be tempered, and I HATE tempering eggs, because they often end up scrambled. That being said, I do like to cook. Look, I even have a nifty cooking category! I like cooking simple stuff the most, although occassionally I’ll branch out and cook something a little harder.

I love to bake, but I haven’t baked much at all this summer. Something about running the oven for a long time in 95 degree weather with 100% humidity just saps the fun out of it.  I have been using my new ice cream maker though, which I LOVE.  I really wanted one last summer, but could never find one that was not majorly expensive. I mean, I like it, but in all honesty, it is probably only going to get used during the summer. I didn’t want to spend a bunch of money on something that only got used during one season. Anyway, I found one that was not expensive, and I like it.  So far I’ve made orange crush  (which would have been better if i had not used skim milk (was very flaky when it froze), but that was all that I had on hand), and chocolate frosty. You know, like the frosty from wendy’s? This tasted JUST like that. Delicious.  We (well me and D plus my sister and my dad) ate the whole batch in a few days (sorry mom!).  It was really awesome. Here is the super simple recipe:

1 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk

1 16 oz tub cool whip

Chocolate milk poured to the “fill line” of your ice cream freezer/bucket.

That’s all! Just freeze it however your ice cream maker tells you to.  I poured mine into plastic lunch containers (be sure to leave enough room at the top, because it will expand when it freezes) and everyone could just pull an individual portion out of the freezer when they wanted one.  Oh yes, and I used 1% chocolate milk,  I despise the taste of whole milk, so the rest of the gallon would have gone to waste if I had bought that kind. The 1% froze just fine though.

Seriously, try this, it took less than five minutes to mix up. (Obviously longer to freeze, but you don’t have to do any work during that part.)

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

