Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Cold, Wet, and MUDDY. July 20, 2009

Filed under: life is flippin suh-weet,well shit — Rachel @ 11:04 am

Last Saturday, D and I decided to take our kayaks to the really popular kayaking spot around here, about an hour away. We had never been to this particular spot before, but we found it without that much trouble.

Well, sort of.

We got to the spot fine, but apparently put our kayaks in at the wrong spot. After paddling 1/2 mile or so upstream, we decided that it was an exercise in futility, and turned around to take the boats back to the right spot.

So, we get to the right spot, shove the boats down the ramp, and go to get into them.

This would have been perfect, had I not fallen into the river at this point.

Twice.

Fully clothed.

Yep, I am the uber-klutz.

Finally, I managed to get into my kayak after lots of swearing and manuevering, and down the river I went.

It was awesome, totally worth it even if I did have to paddle 5+ miles in a wet t-shirt and denim shorts.  This actually wasn’t that bad until the last mile or so when it started to get dark and rapidly cool off, and the 1/2 mile trek back to the car. (Can’t honestly say that I was all that keen on walking in the dark with wet and muddy tennis shoes.)

I am not sure if the skin around my hips will ever be the same (wet denim begins to chafe after awhile, dontcha know?) but that’s what I get for not wearing a rash guard.

Oh well, all’s well that ends well.

How was your weekend?

 

2 Responses to “Cold, Wet, and MUDDY.”

  1. Beagoodmom Says:

    since I know you appreciate random and seemingly unrelated newsflash items, I will tell you what I read in the paper recently…..local police rescued a man and woman who were boating on the river, after they both fell in the water and their boat capsized. Man, woman and unborn child were reported to be recovering fine. Yep…she was pregnant…and boating. I swear its true. I love reading the police blotter in the local paper. Its better than the comics.

  2. Rachel Says:

    OMG…that is scary! I def. wouldn’t do this while preggo, I don’t think I could even fit in my little kayak if my belly was poking out! It is fun, but it can be rough and dangerous, especially if you hit even little rapids.


Leave a Reply

