Burning The Souffle

"A Woman Happily In Love, She Burns The Souffle"

Well, it smelled like something was burning September 11, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rachel @ 1:35 pm

I was just sitting here, innocently eating my lunch, when I thought I smelled something burning. I looked around the room, didn’t see anything, figured that it must have been something outside, shrugged and kept eating. Happily reading “Cold Sassy Tree” for the 1 millionth time.

Then it happened again. This time I decided to give everything a more thorough checking. Still nothing.

Well, this just kept happening. I was really puzzled as to why I would smell the burning smell very strongly for a few seconds, then not at all.

And then, I finally realized it was the smell of the top of my diet sprite bottle. I don’t know why that would smell burnt, but that was what was causing the smell. Everytime I brought it up to my mouth to drink, I would smell it.

I felt pretty silly.

However though, I don’t think I can be blamed for feeling silly, since my neighbors were making a TON of noise last night. I fell asleep to the sounds of them pounding/jumping/screwing or whatever they were doing that caused rythmic LOUD thumping on the connecting wall between them and us…which happens to be the wall by my bed. Now don’t get me wrong, they aren’t horrible neighbors or anything….never any problems out of them until then. Now I guess I could have either gotten up and told them to shut up or called the police, but I chose to do neither because I was already in that stage of stupid-half-asleepness, where had I chose to complain, it would have been useless because I don’t think I would have been able to speak in complete sentences.

Plus, they are a bit to shiny happy to want to bring down. You know, those people that cheerfully greet you when you are fumbling for your keys?

And I really can’t say anything, because at some points in my life, I have probably not been the best neighbor either. I used to live on the top floor of a building, which had it’s high points and it’s low points. The biggest high point was probably either the fact that I didn’t have anyone stomping around on top of me, or the fact that I didn’t really have to worry about people crawling through the window to break in unless they were like catwoman or something. However, I used to jump-rope when I lived there……several months later I ran into someone that lived in the same building and we started talking about it. She said that she loved it except for the fact that whoever lived above her made a lot of noise. She said it sounded like they were jumping rope or something.

Ooops.

That was the end of my jump-roping.

 

Leave a comment